Ken Gibson - Attorney At Law
                                                                           
Austin, Texas
   Home   About Us   Services   Texas DWI   DWI Law   Jail Release   Contact Us   Location   

 

Texas DWI Criminal Defense Attorney

A DWI Conviction Could Cost You:  
I've found that most people have a
serious misconception about the
cost of their DWI.



They believe that pleading guilty is going to save them money over the cost of hiring an attorney and fighting the charge. Better think again.



This is a table showing the costs
of a DWI conviction here in Texas.
Cost to Tow Your Car $150.00
Average Fine $500
Community Service Hours
(at Min. wage)
$309
Probation Fees $1,488.00
License Reinstatement Fee $125
Add These Probable Additional Costs
Alcohol Education Classes $135
Auto Insurance Increase Varies *
Minimum DWI Surcharge† $3,000



As you can see, the average cost for just pleading guilty is at least $5,207.00, not including your attorney fees, or how much your insurance company will surcharge you. That could be an additional $1,000.00 or more a year for three years.

In addition, you need to seriously keep possible jail time in mind. For a first offense, you probably won't get any jail time. But if you ever get arrested and convicted for a 2nd DWI offense, you're looking at mandatory jail time of 3 to 30 days.

                               
Not too pleasant a picture, is it?

On the other hand, if you fight and are successful in keeping a DWI conviction off your record, you can avoid these charges, plus the raise in your insurance rates.

So let me ask you quite simply . . . can you afford not to fight the charge?

Because, you see, even without attorney costs, you're still looking at up to a minimum of $5,206.14 in non-attorney costs. And you'll always have the DWI conviction on your record. And this could seriously hurt you now and in the future.

* does not include the gouging you will get from your insurance company when it is time to renew your policy, and that is if they don’t cancel your policy all together.

† The DWI Surcharge could be as high as $6,000.00, depending on the facts of your case.


KEN GIBSON

DWI Criminal Defense Trial Attorney

812 San Antonio St., Suite 100
Austin, TX 78701


(512) 469-6056
Or
Call Toll Free - 866) 469-6056



Free Consultation  Payment Plans Available  Major Credit Cards Accepted

Ken Gibson criminal defense trial attorney in Austin, Texas handling Drunk Driving (DWI) and Driving Under The Influence (DUI) in the state of Texas. Travis County, Williamson County, Hays County and Bastrop County. Austin, Georgetown, Manor, Round Rock, Pflugerville, Del Valle, Cedar Park, San Marcos, Bastrop.

Reproduction of any material on this site without written permission is strictly prohibited.
© Copyright 2013 Ken Gibson Attorney and Counselor at Law. All Rights Reserved.







DWI / DUI
Arrested for
Drunk Driving?
Driving While
Intoxicated?
24 Hour Help
 CALL NOW!
Jail Release
512- 469-6056


Texas DWI laws
are both political
and complex.
Know Your
Rights!


Avoid mistakes
after being
arrested for
Drunk Driving


Texas DWI
License
Suspension
Laws..
License
Revocation
in the State
of Texas


DWI Conviction
Rate Procedures


What Happens
Next After A
DWI Arrest?


Fighting Your
Texas DWI
-

Still Undecided
about fighting
for your Texas
drivers license?


Mistakes police
make and how
they can help
you


DUI vs. DWI in
Texas