Ken Gibson - Attorney At Law
                                                                           
Austin, Texas
Travis County Jail Release Travis County Jail Release
   Home   About Us   Services   Texas DWI   DWI Law   Jail Release   Contact Us   Location   

 

Travis County Jail Release Information

 

Austin Jail Release, Austin Bail Bonds, Cash, Surety Bond IF YOU NEED IMMEDIATE ASSISTANCE
HELPING A FRIEND OR FAMILY MEMBER
IN GETTING A JAIL RELEASE
PLEASE CALL

(512) 469-6056

OR

TOLL FREE 1-866-469-6056
Serving Travis County, Hays County
And Williamson County

Procedures for Getting Out of Jail

HOW BAIL IS SET

After booking the defendant, the arresting officer files a probable cause affidavit with the court. This is basically the police officer’s short version of what the allegations against the defendant are. The judge reads this report, and checks the defendant’s criminal history. At that point, the judge sets a bail amount. The seriousness of the allegations and the length of the defendant’s prior arrest history are probably the 2 most important factors in determining the amount of bail set by the judge.

For misdemeanors in Travis County, bail is often set as low as $500 for hot check cases, and as high as $10,000 or more for family violence assaults. Most first time DWI bail amounts will be between $1500 and $3000, if the defendant has no prior arrests. There is no set schedule for this though; so the amount may be higher depending on the judge that initially reviews the case.

In Travis County, judges are available to set the bail amount between approximately 7 A.M. and 1:00 A.M. People who are arrested after 1:00 A.M. (like most DWIs, for example) will not have a bail amount set until sometime in the morning – or even the next afternoon.

IN TRAVIS COUNTY THERE IS A WAY AN ATTORNEY CAN ARRANGE FOR A PERSON TO BE RELEASED FROM JAIL SO THAT THEY DON’T HAVE TO SPEND THE NIGHT IN JAIL. THAT IS CALLED A Late night HOBBY RELEASE. For more on this topic, please click here. (opens in new window)

Once a bond amount has been set, there are four ways to be released from jail. These are Cash Bonds, Personal Bonds, Lawyer Assisted Bonds and Surety Bonds.

CASH BONDS

This is simply a matter of depositing with the jail the full amount of the bond. Travis County Jail will only accept cashier’s checks or money orders in the amount of the bail (not cash).
There are a couple reasons why this is often not the best option for someone trying to be released from jail. First, since bond is usually set in the thousands, rather than hundreds of dollars, many people will find they can not come up with the funds as quickly as their friend or loved one needs to get out of jail. Secondly, the money will be tied up until the case is resolved – which could be a year or even longer. This is generally not a good use of cash funds.

PERSONAL BONDS

Sometime after the arrest, the Travis County PreTrial Services Office will interview an arrestee, to see whether they qualify for a personal bond. If they do qualify, the person will only be required to pay a $20 PR Bond fee to the office. This is the cheapest way to get out of jail. However, it too is often not the best option for the recently arrested person.

First, if a person is arrested in the middle of the night (say 2:00 A.M. for a DWI), the judge will not see them to set a bond until sometime much closer to noon – or even afternoon.

Secondly, depending on the number of people arrested, it can take the PreTrial Services Office more than 12 hours to approve a bond for any particular individual. It is not unusual for someone arrested for DWI at 2:00 A.M. to be released on Personal Bond sometime between 2 and 6 P.M. Most of my clients want to be released much sooner than that, if at all possible.
Third, there is a very strict criteria that the Pretrial Service Office uses to determine if a person is eligible for a personal bond. Very often, a person will not be approved for a Personal Bond unless an attorney is retained.

LAWYER ASSISTED BONDS

There are several ways that I as a lawyer can help you get out of jail. Again, if you are seeking to get someone out of the Travis County Jail during the night please click this link. (HOBBY RELEASE) (opens in new window)

First, I am often able to speed up the Personal Bond Process. Even if PreTrial Services wouldn’t have turned in a bond until sometime in the afternoon, I am usually able to speed that process up and get it turned in sometime shortly after 8 A.M. This can save the client many unpleasant hours in jail.

Second, if the client was not going to qualify for a personal bond, I can often get a percentage cash deposit bond approved. In most cases, this money can be applied towards the fee I charge to represent the person in court.

Third, if the person is arrested and booked, but has not seen the judge to have a bond amount set, in Travis County, only a lawyer can get him out in the middle of the night. This is called a HOBBY RELEASE. There are several conditions that must be met for a person to be eligible for a Travis County hobby release.

Because my business is primarily DWIs, I have attorneys available all hours of the day and night to help get recently arrested people out of jail. Please call Toll Free 1-866-469-6056 to speak with an attorney that can help you now.

SURETY OR BAIL BONDS

Finally, in some cases it is necessary for someone to hire a bail bond company to guarantee the amount of the bond. Bail bond companies typically charge at least 15-20% of the bond amount to get someone out of jail. In some cases, of course, it is more. The money used to pay a bondsman can never be applied to the attorney’s fees in a case.

As you can see, there are a number of ways we can help you secure the release from jail of your friend or love one. My phones are answered 24/7. If you are not sure if we can help you, please call me and explain the situation. Odds are we can help you. If not, we can point you in the right direction.

Because my business is primarily DWIs, I have attorneys available all hours of the day and night to help get recently arrested people out of jail. Please call Toll Free 1-866-469-6056 to speak with an attorney that can help you now. Because each case is different and special, I offer a free initial consultation. To assist you financially in paying any attorney fees, I offer flat rate fees and flexible payment plans that will allow you to hire me as your criminal defense attorney so that I can start immediately to protect your rights.

Experienced Criminal Defense Attorney - Austin Texas

Texas attorney Ken Gibson a dedicated DWI lawyer in Austin focuses on representing individuals accused of misdemeanor DWI, felony DWI and DWI related charges of intoxication. Over the years, he has defended against hundreds of DWI and DWI-related prosecutions throughout Texas.
 

KEN GIBSON

Criminal Defense Trial Attorney

812 San Antonio St., Suite 100
Austin, TX 78701


(512) 469-6056
Or
Call Toll Free - (866) 469-6056



Free Consultation  Payment Plans Available  Major Credit Cards Accepted

Ken Gibson criminal defense trial attorney in Austin, Texas handling Drunk Driving (DWI) and Driving Under The Influence (DUI) in the state of Texas. Travis County, Williamson County, Hays County and Bastrop County. Austin, Georgetown, Manor, Round Rock, Pflugerville, Del Valle, Cedar Park, San Marcos, Bastrop.

Reproduction of any material on this site without written permission is strictly prohibited.
© Copyright 2013 Ken Gibson Attorney and Counselor at Law. All Rights Reserved.
Austin DWI Defense Attorney, Jail Release, Criminal Defense Lawyer






DWI / DUI
Arrested for
Drunk Driving?
Driving While
Intoxicated?
24 Hour Help
 CALL NOW!
Jail Release
512- 469-6056


Texas DWI laws
are both political
and complex.
Know Your
Rights!


Avoid mistakes
after being
arrested for
Drunk Driving


Texas DWI
License
Suspension
Laws..
License
Revocation
in the State
of Texas


DWI Conviction
Rate Procedures


What Happens
Next After A
DWI Arrest?


Fighting Your
Texas DWI
-

Still Undecided
about fighting
for your Texas
drivers license?


Mistakes police
make and how
they can help
you


DUI vs. DWI in
Texas