Texas DWI Criminal Defense Attorney
What happens after a DWI arrest in Texas?
Administrative License Revocation:
To preserve your right to drive in Texas, you must request a hearing within 15
days of when you were served with a Notice of Suspension (usually the date of
arrest). If you timely requested a hearing to contest your license suspension,
you will be able to continue driving until the hearing. If you lose at the
hearing, you can not drive after the hearing. It is our opinion you should
requests the officer's presence at the hearing. Crucial defenses can be
developed at the hearing. If your license is suspended at the hearing, you may
be able to secure an occupational license to drive.
If you have been arrested and released for a misdemeanor DWI, you will be given
a date to return to court (usually 30 days after your arrest). If you hire an
attorney, the attorney can usually make this appearance for you, so that you do
not have to attend. During this 30 day period, the case is sent to the County
Attorney's office for further investigation. The County Attorney then prepares
an information and files this with the County Clerk, and your case is set on the
Your attorney will discuss your case with the County Attorney to discuss the
best possible resolution of your case. This conference will happen about 8-10
weeks after your 1st Appearance date.
The Court may suppress some or all of the evidence against you if your
constitutional rights have been violated. Your attorney will file motions to
suppress. It occurs anywhere from 6 weeks to 3 months after the pre-trial
You may either request a bench trial wherein the court hears the case or a jury
trial wherein a jury of your peers hears the case. If the case is a misdemeanor,
the trial will be to a jury of six. If the case is a felony, the jury will be to
a jury of twelve.
The Court imposes a sentence after a conviction at trial or after a plea bargain
is accepted and a plea entered. Sentences may include jail time, numerous fees,
fines, community service, alcohol classes and fines.
Please call and schedule an appointment at your earliest convenience, because I can help you through the unfamiliar territory
of the criminal justice system. Because each case is different and special, I offer a free initial consultation where you and I can sit
down and discuss the charges against you and what options are available to you. To assist you financially in paying any attorney
fees, I offer flat rate fees and flexible payment plans that will allow you to hire me as your criminal defense attorney so that I can
start immediately to protect your rights.
Criminal Defense Trial Attorney
812 San Antonio St., Suite 100
Austin, TX 78701
Call Toll Free - 866) 469-6056
Free Consultation Payment Plans
Available Major Credit Cards Accepted
Ken Gibson criminal defense trial attorney in Austin, Texas
handling Drunk Driving (DWI) and Driving Under The Influence (DUI) in the state of Texas. Travis County, Williamson County, Hays County and Bastrop
County. Austin, Georgetown, Manor, Round Rock, Pflugerville, Del Valle, Cedar Park, San Marcos, Bastrop.
Reproduction of any material on this site without written permission is strictly prohibited.
© Copyright 2013 Ken Gibson Attorney and Counselor at Law. All Rights Reserved.
DWI / DUI
24 Hour Help
Texas DWI laws
are both political
in the State
Next After A
Texas DWI -
for your Texas
A Texas DWI
& Travel Plans
make and how
they can help
DUI vs. DWI in